LEAD team earns third consecutive Presidential Volunteer Service Award


For the third consecutive year, volunteers from the planning and organizing committee for Cal State San Bernardino’s Latino Education and Advocacy Days Summit will receive the prestigious Presidential Volunteer Service Award from President Obama’s Council on Service and Civic Participation.

This year, 43 volunteers will be honored, said Enrique Murillo Jr., LEAD executive director and founder.

“These are 43 new volunteers as awardees are not repeated yearly,” Murillo said. “Last year we had 45 awardees and in 2010 we had 15 awardees. This makes now 103 separate LEAD planners and volunteers who will have each received the prestigious award.”

President's Volunteer Service Award sealCal State San Bernardino President Tomás D. Morales praised the LEAD volunteers for their dedication.

“This presidential recognition is a tribute to the hard work and dedication of our LEAD volunteers in putting together a very successful event, one that draws the attention of educators worldwide,” said Morales. “It speaks to their commitment to the importance of higher education throughout the community.”

Each member of Cal State San Bernardino’s LEAD team received a pin, a personalized certificate and a congratulatory letter signed by President Barack Obama. The volunteers will be honored during the annual LEAD Volunteer Recognition Dinner on Friday, Dec. 14, Murillo said.

The LEAD Summits at Cal State San Bernardino the past three years have attracted educators, students and activists from throughout the United States and around the world through traditional gatherings as well as through the Internet, international viewing stations and social media.

During the 2012 LEAD Summit, an estimated 1,200 people attended the free all-day forum held at the CSUSB Santos Manuel Student Union Events Center, with thousands more participating over the Internet at more than 1,500 viewing stations around the United States and 29 countries around the world.

This year’s recipients, along with their CSUSB department or other affiliation, are:

  • Juana Alamos, administrative support coordinator, CSUSB Community University Partnerships;
  • Aaron Burgess, associate director of operations, CSUSB Santos Manuel Student Union;
  • Caroline Sue Caballero, assistant for electronic resources and serials, CSUSB John M. Pfau Library
  • Irene Carrasco, administrative support coordinator, CSUSB Chemistry Department;
  • Estefany Rodriguez Castro, CSUSB student;
  • Terri Lynn Cortez, administrative support coordinator, CSUSB Chemistry Department;
  • Rocio Delgado, financial aid technician, San Bernardino Valley College;
  • Ernest F. Garcia, dean emeritus, CSUSB College of Education and 2012 LEAD Summit Honorary Chair/”Padrino de Honor;”
  • Rosalinda Garcia, science division secretary, San Bernardino Valley College;
  • Edwin Gomez, administrative director, elementary instruction, San Bernardino City Unified School District and doctoral candidate, CSUSB educational leadership program;
  • Caressa Gomez, television producer/programmer, CSUSB Academic Computing and Media;
  • Roxana Gonzalez, CSUSB student;
  • Hector Guzman, San Bernardino Valley College student and campus president of MEChA;
  • Aja Nadine Henriquez, writing instructor, California Baptist University and doctoral candidate, CSUSB educational leadership program;
  • Daniel Herrmann, information technology consultant, CSUSB Academic Computing and Media;
  • Margaret Horta, CSUSB graduate student;
  • Maria Lavalle, transfer and graduation counselor, CSUSB Records, Registration and Evaluations;
  • Daniel Loera, multicultural affairs director, University of La Verne and president of the Southern California Consortium of Hispanic Serving Institutions;
  • Edgar Lopez, CSUSB student;
  • Karolia Macias, outreach and admissions counselor, University of California, Riverside and Campus Puente Connection Club staff adviser;
  • Robie Madrigal, public affairs specialist, CSUSB Office of Public Affairs;
  • Alice Martinez, administrative support coordinator, CSUSB School of Computer Science and Engineering;
  • Christy Martinez, resource specialist, Corona-Norco Unified School District and doctoral candidate, CSUSB educational leadership program;
  • Corinne McCurdy, photographer/videographer, CSUSB Academic Computing and Media;
  • Monica McMahon, CSUSB student;
  • Mayra Neri, CSUSB student;
  • Jacob Poore, marketing director, CSUSB Academic Computing and Media;
  • Fermin Ramirez, financial aid outreach coordinator, Crafton Hills College;
  • Tom Richards, broadcast engineer, CSUSB Academic Computing and Media;
  • Jose Rivera, adjunct faculty, CSUSB Department of Communication Studies;
  • Anthony Roberson, maintenance custodian, CSUSB Santos Manuel Student Union;
  • Alyssa Rosales, CSUSB student and library administration assistant to administrative analyst/specialist
  • Michael L. Ross, interim assistant vice president for CSUSB Academic Computing and Media;
  • Kathleen Rowley, director, San Bernardino Valley College Grant Development and Management;
  • Sonya V. Scott, special education teacher, Etiwanda School District, and doctoral candidate, CSUSB educational leadership program;
  • David Torres, retired district administrator, California Department of Rehabilitation;
  • Garrett Trask, media events specialist, CSUSB Academic Computing and Media;
  • James Trotter, video production coordinator, CSUSB Academic Computing and Media;
  • Mary Ulatan, administrative support assistant, CSUSB Office of Vice-President of Student Affairs;
  • Carey Van Loon, instructional multimedia developer, CSUSB Academic Computing and Media;
  • Ricardo Vargas, assistant director, UCR Undergraduate Admissions Recruitment and Evaluations;
  • Aimee Villalpando, CSUSB student;
  • Elizabeth Viramontes, multimedia and video designer, CSUSB Academic Computing and Media;
  • Robert Whitehead, photographer/videographer, CSUSB Academic Computing and Media.

The President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation was established in 2003 by President George W. Bush to recognize the valuable contributions that volunteers make in their communities and to encourage others to serve.

The council created the President’s Volunteer Service Award program as a way to thank and honor Americans who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service.

To be eligible for the award, the group must be qualified and approved by a certifying organization, verifying the number of volunteer hours served.

For more information about LEAD, contact Enrique Murillo Jr. at (909) 537-5632 or e-mail emurillo@csusb.edu, and visit the LEAD website.

For more information about Cal State San Bernardino, contact the university’s Office of Public Affairs at (909) 537-5007 and visit news.csusb.edu.