CSUSB Palm Desert Campus announces Louis Fernandez scholarship recipients


Six students from Cal State San Bernardino’s Palm Desert Campus have been named the initial recipients of the Louis Fernandez scholarship for 2012.

They include Monserrath Ancono of Twentynine Palms, Christyann Anderson of Palm Desert, Eduardo Carrasco of Coachella, Tracy Jackson of La Quinta, Amy Szilagyi of Indio and Jorge Tovar of Cathedral City.

Fernandez scholarship recipients at CSUSB PDC

Retired CSUSB provost and vice president Louis Fernandez (third from left) with the recipients of the scholarship named after him. From left, Jorge Tovar, Eduardo Carrasco, Fernandez, Monserrath Ancona, Amy Szilagyi and Christyann Anderson. Not pictured is Tracy Jackson.

Fernandez, who served as Cal State San Bernardino’s provost from 1998 until his retirement in 2011, was instrumental in developing the CSUSB Palm Desert Campus. The scholarship, which was created in 2011 to honor Fernandez, was initiall the Palm Desert Campus general scholarship fund.

In 1991, Fernandez joined CSUSB as dean of the College of Natural Sciences and professor of geological sciences. In 1994, he served as acting vice president for academic affairs before being named to the permanent position in 1995 and was subsequently named the university’s provost.

During his nearly 18 years of service, Fernandez offered leadership on a variety of academic successes – from the university’s 1998 Strategic Plan (and its 2009 revision), to the development of the university’s first engineering and master of fine arts programs, to its initial doctorate. In addition, he helped establish the Teaching Resource Center, the Robert V. Fullerton Art Museum (now the Robert and Frances Fullerton Museum of Art), a host of new centers and institutes and the Office of Distributed Learning.

For more information about the CSUSB Palm Desert Campus, contact Mike Singer in the campus’s Office of Public Affairs at (760) 341-2883, ext. 78107 or msinger@csusb.edu