13 CSUSB faculty members retire


Cal State San Bernardino has announced that 13 faculty members, led by university President Albert K. Karnig, have officially retired or semi-retired during the 2011-2012 academic year.

HigherEducation_illustrationKarnig retired this month after leading the university for 15 years. Tomás D. Morales, who previously served as president of the College of Staten Island, The City University of New York, is Cal State San Bernardino’s new president and will start on Aug. 15.

Seven of the faculty have semi-retired under the university’s Faculty Early Retirement Program and will teach part-time. The retired faculty members are listed below by their CSUSB academic college and department. The retirees who will continue as part-time instructors are indicated by an asterisk:

College of Arts and Letters

  • Thomas Moody of Redlands, philosophy*

College of Business and Public Administration

  • C.E. Tapie Rohm of San Bernardino, information and decision sciences*
  • Robert “Bob” Wilson of Riverside, information and decision sciences
  • Clifford Young of Rialto, public administration

College of Education

  • Herb Brunkhurst of Riverside, science, math and technology
  • Rosalie Giacchino-Baker of Claremont, language literacy and culture
  • Bonnie Piller of Cherry Valley, language literacy and culture*
  • Ruth Sandlin of Running Springs, educational psychology and counseling*
  • Sue Spitzer, director of the multiple subject credential program

College of Natural Sciences

  • Daniel Fahey of Carlsbad, health science
  • James Okon of Cherry Valley, mathematics*

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Sybil Carrere of Redlands, psychology*
  • Jim Charkins of Wrightwood, economics*

For more information about Cal State San Bernardino, contact the university’s Office of Public Affairs at (909) 537-5007 and visit, news.csusb.edu.